3 former CMs are contesting elections in Karnataka, NDA’s big bet to cross the 400+ mark. Karnataka Lok Sabha

Basavaraj Bommai (Haveri), Jagadish Shettar (Belgaum) and HD Kumaraswamy (Mandya).

BJP has set a target of crossing the NDA’s 400 seat mark in the Lok Sabha elections 2024. BJP has especially focused on South India in this election. BJP has made an agreement with JDU (S). In a rally in Mysore on Sunday, PM Modi fiercely attacked the Congress and the Indi alliance, calling it the Sultan of the Tukde Tukde gang. In this Lok Sabha election, Karnataka NDA has fielded three former CMs of Karnataka. Basavaraj Bommai (Haveri), Jagadish Shettar (Belgaum) and HD Kumaraswamy (Mandya) are in the electoral fray from NDA this time.

Bommai and Shettar, both Lingayats, are candidates from the BJP, while Kumaraswamy, who comes from the Vokkaliga community, is the son of JDU(S) state president and former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda and is the JDU(S) candidate. Out of total 28 Lok Sabha seats in Karnataka, BJP is contesting on 25 seats and JDS on three seats.

Before November 1, 1973, Karnataka was called Mysore State. There have been 23 Chief Ministers in Karnataka since the country’s independence in 1947. After the assembly elections in Karnataka last year, Congress returned to power and BJP was disappointed. Almost a year after BJP’s poor performance, Basavaraj Bommai is again contesting the Lok Sabha elections.

read this also

Former CM Basavaraj Bommai is contesting elections from Haveri.

Presently Shiggaon MLA Basavaraj Bommai is the son of Janata Parivar stalwart late SR Bommai and he is contesting from Haveri Lok Sabha seat. 64-year-old Basavaraj Bommai became CM with the support of Yediyurappa. Yediyurappa was asked by the central leadership of BJP to step down in July 2021.

Four-time MLA Bommai was the Chief Minister from 2021 to 2023. Sources say that he is likely to become a part of the Modi cabinet if the BJP-led NDA returns to power.

Former CM Jagadish Shettar is contesting elections from Belagavi

On the other hand, Jagadish Shettar is contesting from Belgaum (Belagavi). Mangala Angadi of BJP was the MP from this seat. Shettar, who hails from the Hubli-Dharwad region, is a close relative of the Angadi family.

The 68-year-old former state BJP president had left the party to join the Congress ahead of the state assembly elections last year after being denied a ticket, which dealt a blow to the BJP in the Lingayat constituency, but he returned to the BJP in January. . Shettar was initially reluctant to contest from Belagavi and wanted Dharwad, which the BJP has given to sitting MP Pralhad Joshi.

During the political turmoil and factionalism within the ruling BJP in Karnataka in 2012, Shettar emerged as the consensus candidate, and with the support of various factions, he briefly became the Chief Minister, replacing Sadananda Gowda. BJP lost in the 2013 assembly elections and Shettar became the leader of the opposition.

During the second term of the BJP government in 2019, Shettar served as a minister under Yediyurappa, but refused to become a minister under Bommai citing seniority. Shettar, a six-time MLA who was also an MLC for three months, had served as chief minister for 10 months between 2012 and 2013. Shettar is also contesting the Lok Sabha elections for the first time.

HD Kumaraswamy is contesting elections from Mandya

HD Kumaraswamy, son of former CM and former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda, is contesting from Mandya. Kumaraswamy had said before the assembly elections in 2018, “I will be the king, not the kingmaker.” His words turned into prophecy as the Vokkaliga leader captured the chief minister’s post for the second time despite the JD(S).

Kumaraswamy had previously served as chief minister for 20 months from 2006 at the head of the JD(S)-BJP government. Kumaraswamy entered electoral politics by successfully contesting the Kanakapura Lok Sabha seat in 1996. The BJP came to power in the 2008 assembly elections. In 2009, Kumaraswamy successfully contested the Lok Sabha elections from Bengaluru Rural. If the Modi government comes to power again, 64-year-old Kumaraswamy can become a minister.

News Source ➤


Brijesh Pratap
Brijesh Pratap

Hi, I am Brijesh Pratap, a content creator and WordPress website designer, I have been in content writing for more than 3 years. I specialize in creating engaging articles. As a WordPress expert, I design websites for businesses and bloggers, aiming for both visual appeal and impactful content. Join me on this journey of creative exploration and effective online solutions.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

Compare items
  • Total (0)